A new exciting feature has been added to WhatsApp for its users. A new feature is being tested by the instant-messaging platform, which will prevent users from taking screenshots or recording the media sent in one view.
A WhatsApp watchdog known as WABetaInfo, which keeps an eye on the newest updates in WhatsApp betas and its latest releases, has reported that some beta testers will observe this feature.
Earlier this year, WhatsApp introduced the capability to send any image as a “View Once” image, which allows the image to disappear after it has been opened, similar to Instagram and Snapchat. The difference between these apps and WhatsApp is that they notify senders if the recipient takes a screenshot of their media.
The company is now working on enhancing the privacy features of the platform by blocking users from recording WhatsApp media sent on one view.
For users of WhatsApp beta 126.96.36.199 (build 405622068) running on iPhones, the latest release will prevent them from taking screenshots of content sent with the “View Once” option.
The new privacy option cannot be disabled if a user attempts to take a screenshot. WhatsApp will show a pop-up message saying “blocked for added privacy.”.