10 Countries That Banned The Use of VPN

Lined Circle

1. Belarus

The Belarusian government has banned the use of the Tor anonymizing network, according to a report by the Belarusian National Security Agency.

2. China

The Chinese government has banned a number of popular virtual private networks (VPNs), including Tor, according to a report from the BBC.

3. Iran

It is prohibited in Iran to sell or advertise VPNs, and using  result in prosecution. Nonetheless, VPN usage by civilians and even government officials remains very common.

4. Iraq

Despite the fact that ISIS is no longer a danger, the country's stringent Internet prohibitions persist.

5. Oman

Anyone who violates this regulation faces a fine of 500 riyals (about $1,300), while businesses can apply for permission to use a VPN.

6. Russia

In Russia, licensed VPNs must register with the government and log the internet activities of its customers. 

7. Turkey

Using a VPN (or Tor) in Turkey might make you a target for the authorities. The government is now using tactics similar to those used in China.

8. Uganda

Ugandan government reacted by forcing local Internet service providers to prohibit VPN services.

9. UAE

It is illegal to use a VPN to get access to restricted websites or to utilise voice-over-Internet-Protocol (VoIP) services like Skype and WhatsApp.

10. Venezuela

Earlier this year, Venezuela's primary Internet service provider sought to restrict the use of Tor and VPN services, purportedly on government instructions.