WhatsApp has updated its terms and conditions, and every user has to agree to let the company store and monitor everything on WhatsApp. If they disagree, their accounts will be deleted.
A user has to agree to store and monitor everything on WhatsApp or lose their accounts!
Whatsapp promotes encryption and security, but the introduction of such policies would harm their brand positioning in terms of security. Through this, WhatsApp will easily locate you, locate your contacts, and can peak into the conversation if they’re reported for whatsoever reason.
Under the new policy, the app will be monitoring the following things;
- Smartphone model
- Battery level
- Signal strength
- App version
- Browser version
- Mobile network
- Connection information
- Phone number
- Time zone
- IP Adresse
- Device operations information
The application also listed “… other Facebook companies,” which means the information is now available and readable among other facebook-owned apps such as Facebook and Instagram.
The company further added that enabling these options would allow them to give their users a highly accessible application for day-to-day use or meet their business needs.